EBK Activity Sheets


British Kingdoms in South Wales

Click the Map to see Glywysing & Gwent's place in Britain
  • Glywysing (now called Glamorgan) and Gwent were two linked kingdoms which covered most of south-east Wales.
  • When the Romans left Britain, an old story says that a son of the British Emperor Magnus Maximus took control of a large portion of South Wales. His name was Owain.
  • At the same time, the British High-King Vortigern held personal control of Powys, including Gwent. His son Vortimer was later given Gwent. The area is named after its capital, the Roman town of Venta Silurum (now called Caerwent).
  • The stories say that Gywysing was named after Owain's great grandson, a king called Glywys (the Welsh version of Claude). 
  • Glywys' daughter married Vortimer's great grandson. They united the two kingdoms. Sometimes, however, they became divided again and were ruled by different branches of the family. There was also a third kingdom called Ergyng (Western Herefordshire).
  • Owain's descendants ruled here until 1090. Thatís over 700 years! Then the English took over.
  • In the early 10th century, Glywysing became known as Morgannwg, after its king, Morgan the Great. The English called it Glamorgan.
  • The kings of Gwent lived at Portskewett. The Kings of Glywysing lived at Margam. Their Royal monastery was at Margam.
  • The most famous Kings of Glwysing and Gwent were:
    • Tewdrig - He lived in the the early 7th century. He was a good king who retired to a monastery. However, the Saxons invaded and he had to return to lead his men in battle once more.
    • Morgan the Great - He lived in the 10th century. He lived to be a hundred and had his country named after him.


    © Nash Ford Publishing 2003. All Rights Reserved.